I AM ANDREW BREIBART!

Last week the Conservative and Tea Party Movements lost a great champion, Andrew Breibart. As a fearless, resourceful,  and above all indefatigable opponent of Big Government Liberalism, Breibart showed us all how to stand-up against the Democrat’s and their allies on the far left and in the Mainstream-Media.
 
Hollywood is a bastion of the Left-wing, a temple of Leftist, anti-American orthodoxy. For decades, being a conservative in the entertainment industry has been career-killing. Stories abound of people in “the industry” coming out as conservatives; only to be “black-listed” and to find work suddenly drying up.
 
Three days ago, a courageous Hollywood producer decided to “come out of the closet”; and, in the spirit of Breibart, stand up to the Left-wing Hollywood Establishment.
 
Daniel Knauf  is the  creator of HBO’s Carnivale,  a writer on Supernatural and My Own Worst Enemy, a writer-producer on Spartacus: Blood and Sand, and much more.
 
 
Like many, Knauf was originally a self-described Kennedy Liberal. 9-11 changed that.
 
Like actor Gary Sinise and comedian Dennis Miller, the attacks on America on 9-11 changed everything. The time for examining our collective navels and self-flagellation were over. America was under attack, and it was time to stand up for her! 
 
 
But Knauf kept his conservative conversion to himself. He didn’t have the celebrity of Sinise or Miller; announcing it would risk career suicide.

 

Over the ensuing years, I continued to remain silent whenever confronted by the toxic, batshit-crazy, knee-jerk, anti-intellectual, when-in-doubt-blame-America Leftism that pervades Hollywood. I saw what happened to others if they spoke up or disagreed with the party line. I actually witnessed one writer, who foolishly expressed his support for the war in Iraq, set-upon and viciously berated by no less than six crew-members for almost 20 minutes straight.

 That night, he found his car had been keyed in our secure lot.

 Hmm… must’ve been a random vandal.

 incidentally, though he had a storied career, an amazing list of credits and is one of the most versatile, talented writer-producers I know, the jobs gradually dried up for him and now he can’t, as they say, get arrested in this town.

ON March 3, two days following the death of his friend Andrew Breibart, Knauf had a “Road to Damascus” moment. His reticence concerning his politics;  his care not to reveal himself  to the Hollywood Establishment now seemed craven.
 
When he  (Breibart) died, my first thought was, “Oh my God. What’re we gonna do now?”

 We are in the middle of a War of Ideas. At stake is nothing less than the principles of inalienable rights and freedom upon which the United States was founded. And Andrew Breitbart is dead.

In an outpouring of emotion on Twitter, Knauf “let it all hang-out”!
 
Here’s what he tweeted:
It all just started bleeding out of me, he Tweeted;  white hot, 140 characters at a time. All my rage. All my indignation. Like the jetting pulse from a slashed carotid, for the whole world to see.
 
Knauf found that he was not alone. Conservatives throughout America, but particularly in Hollywood and on the “Left Coast” responded.

 

Then came the emails. And the Follows. 1,000 in about an hour. My jaws clenched, tears blurred my vision as I typed (as they blur them now as I type): My hero is dead. Andrew Breitbart is dead.

Long live Andrew Breitbart.  #IAmAndrewBreitbart.

 I have worked the last couple years in television; and experienced the same thing… And when I lived in Union-dominated Detroit for 7 years (my in-laws were mostly all United Auto Workers Union guys and gals); and when I lived and worked a year in both Chicago and Detroit! The hatred on the Left for we on the Right goes WAY beyond disdain we often feel for their leftist ideas.
 
To paraphrase the parlance of “The Godfather”, for us it’s just politics. For the Left, it’s personal.
 
Perhaps Knauf has started a movement: For heretofore cowed conservatives to stand up and say, “I am Andrew Breitbart”!
 
Every movement needs heroes and martyrs. Andrew Breibart, in death, has given us a final gift. 
 
And for another take, check out what the Goddess has to say over at the Temple: http://templeofmut.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/brietbart-now-more-powerful-than-anyone-can-possibly-imagine/
 
3 thoughts on “I AM ANDREW BREIBART!

  1. Pingback: BRIETBART: Now, MORE POWERFUL than anyone can possibly imagine! « Temple of Mut

  2. Thank you. I was hoping that one day, there could be a long string of circumstances, probably involving my daughter the actress, that would bring my path across Andrew Breitbart’s and allow me to tell him in person how much his work has meant to me. All that has been lost to me is the remotest of possibilities, but even now it feels as real as losing a limb.

    G-d, I wish I weren’t taking this so hard. Again, thank you.

Leave a Reply

